

Association of VA Anesthesiologists

September 14, 2020

The Honorable Robert Wilkie Secretary Department of Veterans Affairs 801 Vermont Avenue Washington, D.C., 20402

Dear Secretary Wilkie:

We are writing to you today to request a response to our May 11, 2020 letter invoking VA's "Stop the Line" initiative. Our letter addresses our strong opposition to the April 21st memorandum authored by Veteran Health Administration, Executive-in-Charge, Richard Stone, M.D. We believe the memorandum directly jeopardizes the quality of Veterans' health care and unnecessarily puts the lives of Veterans at risk.

As physicians working on the VA frontlines in both the operating room and critical care units, we have a shared commitment and responsibility to ensuring that our patients receive the best health care possible. It is because of that commitment that we, and over 300 of our anesthesiologist-colleagues, cosigned the May 11 letter to you. The letter presents in great detail our concerns, including the lack of any consultation with VA's anesthesiologists on the development and issuance of the memorandum. The letter concludes with a direct request that the memorandum be immediately rescinded.

We applaud your leadership of the Department and your ongoing efforts to strengthen the quality of health care available to our nation's Veterans. It is our hope that our combined voices on this critically important issue will merit your immediate attention. We look forward to speaking with you regarding our concerns and a response to our letter.

Sincerely,

President, AVAA

Brooke Trainer, MD President-Elect, AVAA Paul Tan, MD Vice President, AVAA

Jessica Shanahan, MD Treasurer, AVAA

President

Relin Yang, MD Chief, Anesthesiology, Pain, & Periop car Orlando VA HCS 13800 Veterans Way Orlando, FL 32827 407-631-1000 Relin.Yang@va.gov

President Elect

Brooke Trainer, MD Anesthesiology and Critical Care Central VA Health Care System 1201 Broad Rock Blvd Richmond, VA 23229 804-675-5000 Brooke.Trainer@va.aov

Vice President Paul Tan MD Anesthesiology James A Haley VA Medical Ctr 3000 Bruce B Downs Blvd. Tampa, FL, 33612 813-972-2000 Paul.Tan@va.gov

Secretary

Ioanna Ápostolido, MD Vice Chair for Academic Anesthesiology Minneapolis VA Hospital One Veterans Drive Minneapolis, MN 55417 612-725-2000 ioanna.apostolidou@va.gov

Treasurer

Jessica Shanahan, M.D. Anesthesia and Critical Care 1400 VFW Parkway West Roxbury, MA 02132 857-203-6070 857-203-5777 fax Jessica.Shanahan@va.gov

Immediate Past President Kay Leissner, MD Chief. Anesthesia and Critical Care Boston VA HCS 1400 VFW Parkwa West Roxbury, MA 02132 857-203-6070 Kay.Leissner@va.gov

Regional Representatives

SOUTHERN

Khurram Ghori, MD Anesthesiology and Critical Care Central VA Health Care System 1201 Broad Rock Blvd Richmond, VA 23229 804-675-5000 Khurram.Ghori@va.gov

CENTRAL

Nichole McIntosh, MD Anesthesiology and Critical Care Atlanta VA Health Care System 1364 Clifton Rd NE 3B South Room B-355 Atlanta, GA 30322 800-711-5444 Khurram.Ghori@va.gov

NORTHEASTERN

Lori Kwan, MD Anesthesiology and Critical Care Connecticut VA HCS – West Haven 950 Campbell Ave West Haven, CT 06516 203-932-5711 lori.kwan@va.gov