Dr. Alan H. Epstein is the R.C. Maclaurin Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics Emeritus and former Director of the Gas Turbine Laboratory at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). While at MIT, he consulted widely for aerospace, energy, and high-tech industries. He continues to work as a consultant. In 2018, he retired as Vice President Technology and Environment at Pratt & Whitney where he was responsible for setting the direction for and coordinating technology across Pratt & Whitney. He also provided strategic leadership in reducing the environmental impact of P&W's world-wide products and services.

Dr. Epstein has over 140 publications in the fields of aircraft and gas turbine technology, aviation and the environment, rocket propulsion, and microsystems. He was a co-author of the IPCC report on climate change that won the Nobel peace prize in 2007. He has given over 250 plenary, keynote, and invited lectures around the world on topics including aviation and the environment, aerospace propulsion, power and energy, micro and nano systems, and the role of new technology in military affairs. He has over two dozen patents granted or pending on gas turbine and on microsystems technologies.

Dr. Epstein has served on many panels and committees advising the US government, industry, and academia. He is currently the chair of the National Academies of Sciences Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board (ASEB) and member of the NASA Advisory Council. He has also served as chair of the US Board on Army Science and Technology. He has won many international awards for his work in propulsion including seven best paper awards, the American Institute of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Gas Turbine Award, the ASME Gas Turbine Scholar Award, the ASME R. Tom Sawyer Award, the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Dryden Lectureship in Research, the International Gas Turbine Institute Gas Turbine Technology Award, the Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute Turnbull Lectureship, the Engineer's Council Honorary Engineer of the Year Award, and the General James H. Doolittle Award. Dr. Epstein is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and past chair of its Aerospace Section. He is an Honorary Fellow of the AIAA, a fellow of the ASME and a fellow of the UK Royal Aeronautical Society. He received B.S., M.S., and PhD degrees from MIT.