Thank you, Mr. Chairman. I think this is an exciting moment as we begin this committee's work for the 119th Congress, what we have achieved on this Committee over the years it's really nothing short of amazing. We've guided the technological advancement of our country and maintained our position as the global leader. The reason we were able to be so productive should be a surprise to no one, we found common ground and collaborated.

It was as simple as that. But that simplicity belies a lot of hard work. So I would encourage my colleagues to reach out across the aisle so that we can make our country safer, smarter, and more environmentally sound together. I expect this history of bipartisanship will be a feature of this Congress as well.

So I'm eager to get started. I'll say that the majority circulated the Committee rules and the oversight plan for the 119th Congress ahead of time, and my caucus approved them last night. So I believe it's safe to say that we will all approve of them now. And with that said, Mr. Chairman, I will yield back.

I think the collaboration on our rules and oversight is an indication of our interest in working in a bipartisan basis with you to advance our country's interests. I yield back.

Intro of Dem Members

Well, thank you very much, Mr. Chairman. I am happy to introduce our new members of first Suhas Subramanyam brings considerable experience from his time as a technology policy adviser to former President Barack Obama, where he worked on Science Committee related issues such as cybersecurity, artificial intelligence, and government, Mark modernizations. He will serve on the research and technology Subcommittee. I'm also happy to have an MIT trained engineer join this Committee in Congresswoman Luz Rivas.

Ms. Rivas is a passionate champion for STEM and climate change education, particularly engaging young women and girls in STEM and I look forward to her bringing that same passion in our Committee business as she did when she served in the California Legislature. She will serve on the investigation and oversight Committee as well as the research and technology Committee. We're happy to have and I know you know him well. Mayor Sylvester Turner is joining us in a continuation of a long career as a public servant.

I am sure that Mayor Turner's experience managing the hurricane Harvey disaster is going to lend much needed perspective to our work with the National Weather Service and he will serve on the energy Subcommittee. Sarah McBride from Delaware is a tireless advocate for

renewable energy, making green technologies affordable and growing sustainable industries. She will serve on the research and technology of Subcommittee. Laura Gillen comes to us from the New York's fourth district she's his champion bringing innovation and improve STEM education And in good paying jobs back to NASA County.

Laura will serve on the space Subcommittee. George Whitesides is joining the Committee in what should feel like a homecoming for him. That's because George brings with him huge experience at NASA. He was Chief of Staff for NASA.

He has a background in commercial space in aerospace, and we will be happy that he is serving on the space Subcommittee because of his extensive background in that area. Laura Friedman, is another mayor and former member of the California Assembly. She's widely regarded as a leader in the environmental movement, having scored many environmental legislative victories from her previous seat in the California State Assembly and she will serve on the energy Subcommittee. April McClain-Delaney, brings with her a distinguished career in the satellite communications industry.

She has also served in the public sector as deputy assistant for Secretary for communications at the Department of Commerce, and she will serve on the research and technology Subcommittee. We also have Josh Riley, who is a renowned Public Advocate has spent his career taking on misconduct. His District is home to SUNY Binghamton, which is one of the top public research universities in the country, and he will serve on the energy Subcommittee. I will not it reintroduce our returning members, but I would note that we have selected our ranking members, Gabe amo will be leading the as ranking on the environment Subcommittee, Deborah Ross will be ranking on the energy Subcommittee, Amelia Sykes, will rank on the investigations and oversight Committee, Haley Stevens will return as ranking on research and technology.

And finally, Ms. Valerie Foushee will be our Ranking Member on the space and aeronautics Subcommittee. So I'm looking forward to a very productive Committee agenda this year, Mr. Chairman, and I yield back.