Jonathan I. Lunine is the David C. Duncan Professor in the Physical Sciences and the Director of the Cornell Center for Astrophysics and Planetary Science at Cornell University. He is a planetary scientist specializing in astrobiology, the outer Solar System, the formation of planetary systems, and properties of extrasolar planets. His work has led to significant advances in understanding the formation and evolution of planets and moons in our neighborhood and around other stars, with particular emphasis on Saturn's satellite Titan. He has co-authored or authored 294 peer-reviewed publications.

He has made outstanding contributions to the ongoing Cassini–Huygens mission as a Cassini interdisciplinary scientist, Huygens team co-investigator, and Cassini Radar Team member. In addition, he is a co-investigator on the Juno mission, on the near-IR spectrometer ("MISE") selected for the NASA Europa mission, and is interdisciplinary scientist for astrobiology on the James Webb Space Telescope. Lunine is also at the heart of the dissemination of planetary sciences and the education of the next generation of scientists, having written two textbooks and delivered a considerable number of lectures and public conferences. He has participated in or chaired numerous committees for NASA, NSF, and the National Research Council (most recently serving as co-chair of the NRC Committee on Human Spaceflight). He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and the International Academy of Astronautics. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and of the American Geophysical Union. He served as chair of the Division for Planetary Sciences of the American Astronomical Society, the professional organization of planetary scientists, from 2008-9.

For his accomplishments in the field of planetary sciences he has received a number of recognitions and awards, among which are the Harold C. Urey Prize of the Division for Planetary Sciences of the American Astronomical Society (1988), the Zeldovich Award of Commission B of COSPAR (1990), the James B. Macelwane Medal of the American Geophysical Union (1995), the Basic Science Award of the International Academy of Astronautics (2009), and the Jean Dominique Cassini Medal of the European Geosciences Union (2015). He received a B.S. (magna cum laude) from the University of Rochester in 1980, and a Ph.D. in Planetary Science from the California Institute of Technology in 1985.