Dr. Nancy Fahrenwald, PHD, RN, PHNA-BC, FAAN Dean and Professor Texas A&M University, College of Nursing



Nancy Fahrenwald, PhD, RN, PHNA-BC, FAAN, serves as dean and professor at the College of Nursing at Texas A&M University. Dean Fahrenwald is one of five A&M Health Science Center deans. In this capacity she oversees all academic, research, outreach and practice initiatives of the college, which has program sites in both Bryan/College Station and Round Rock, Texas. The college also has advising and recruiting offices strategically located in rural and underserved areas of Texas. Prior to joining Texas A&M University in 2018, Dr. Fahrenwald was dean and professor at South Dakota State University College of Nursing.

Dr. Fahrenwald has led or provided consultation to over 30 funded research or training projects in the areas of rural health, health care simulation and technology in nursing education, American Indian health, and health disparities. Her extensive experience with multiple federal agencies focuses on health care access, nursing workforce, and improving the health of underserved and rural populations. She has served on national, state, and local professional and health system boards. In 2017 she was a leader in the Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Coalition that envisioned and succeeded in passing significant legislative changes to the South Dakota Nurse Practice Act. Currently she is a leadership council member for the Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science and Chairwoman for the American Association of Colleges of Nursing's Government Affairs Committee.

Moreover, she has taught at all levels of nursing education and, in her role as dean, created a technology-based clinical simulation learning environment which ultimately received provisional national accreditation from the Society for Simulation in Healthcare. Dr. Fahrenwald has served on numerous review panels for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, and the South Dakota Department of Health. She received her Bachelor of Science in nursing from South Dakota State University, Master of Science in nursing at the University of Portland, and Doctorate of Philosophy in nursing from the University of Nebraska Medical Center.