## Michel J. Bechtel

Michel Bechtel of Morgan's Point is President of Bechtel Exploration Company, and currently serves as the Mayor of the City of Morgan's Point and on the Board of Pilot Commissioners for the Ports of Harris County. He is a member of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and the New Orleans Geological Society. He is a member and past president of the Harris County Mayors and Council Association and a board member of the Bay Area Coastal Protection Alliance, Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership, and the Economic Alliance Houston Port Region. Additionally, he is a member of the Chambers County Mayors Coalition and Port of Houston Commissioners Community Advisory Council. In 2021, he was appointed to the Gulf Coast Protection Board of Directors by Governor Greg Abbott. He was unanimously elected as Board president.

Bechtel received a Bachelor of Science degree in Geology and Geophysics from Louisiana State University in New Orleans and a Master of Science degree in Petroleum Geology from the University of New Orleans.

## Education:

B.S. – Geology/Geophysics, 1970, Louisiana State University in New Orleans M.S. – Petroleum Geology, 1974, University of New Orleans

## Professional Experience:

President, Bechtel Exploration Company, 1983 – Present
Mayor, City of Morgan's Point, 2014 - Present
President, Gulf Coast Protection District, August 2021 to Present
President, Harris County Mayors & Councils Association, 2018 - 2020
Commissioner, Board of Pilot Commissioners for Harris County Ports, 2020 - Present

Port of Houston Chairman's Citizen Advisory Council, 2013 - 2018
Port of Houston Commissioners Community Advisory Council, 2020 - Present
Chairman, Government Affairs, Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
(BAHEP), International Maritime Advisory Council, 2014 - Present
Economic Alliance Houston Port Region Public Policy Committee, 2014 - Present
Board Member, Bay Area Coastal Protection Alliance (BACPA), 2020 - Present
Member, USACE Coastal Texas Study Community Work Group, 2018 - Present
Member, LaPorte Industry Citizens Advisory Council, 2010 - Present