The Honorable Jerry Nadler Chairman House Committee on the Judiciary 2138 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jim Jordan Ranking Member House Committee on the Judiciary 2138 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Nadler and Ranking Member Jordan:

We are former professionals of the Antitrust Division of the U.S. Department of Justice who write in support of John Elias. We know John to be a dedicated civil servant and a person who has committed his career to pursuing the mission of the Antitrust Division: protecting competition for the benefit of all Americans.

John is respected throughout the Department of Justice for his candor and his commitment to justice. We know John to be a person of integrity and a person who speaks the truth and fights to do what is right. We are sure he will carry these principles with him in his appearance before your Committee.

Sincerely,

David Altschuler, former assistant chief, Defense, Industrials & Aerospace Section

Juan Arteaga, former Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Bill Baer, former Assistant Attorney General

Belinda Barnett, former Deputy Chief Legal Advisor- Criminal

Michael Billiel, former trial attorney

Kathleen Bradish, former assistant chief, International Section

Christopher H. Casey, former Deputy Associate Attorney General

Jillian E. Charles, former attorney advisor, Competition Policy & Advocacy Section

Jade Eaton, former trial attorney

Susan Edelheit, former trial attorney

David Gelfand, former Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Caroline Holland, former Chief Counsel for Competition Policy and Intergovernmental Relations Angela L. Hughes, former trial attorney

Donna Kooperstein, former chief, Transportation, Energy & Agriculture Section

J. Robert Kramer, former Director of Operations and General Counsel

Gail Kursh, former Deputy Chief, Competition Policy & Advocacy Section

Kristen Limarzi, former chief, Appellate Section

Creighton Macy, former chief of staff

Jeffrey Martino, former chief, New York Office

Daniel McCuaig, former trial attorney

Eric Meiring, former acting chief, Washington Criminal II Section

Aviv Nevo, former Deputy Assistant Attorney General for Economic Analysis

Anne Newton McFadden, former counsel to the Director of Civil Enforcement

Ann O'Brien, former assistant chief, Competition Policy & Advocacy Section

Nancy Olson, former Deputy General Counsel- Civil

Sonia Pfaffenroth, former Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Anant Raut, former counsel to the Assistant Attorney General

Nancy L. Rose, former Deputy Assistant Attorney General for Economic Analysis

Jonathan Sallet, former Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Brent Snyder, former Deputy Assistant Attorney General

John Snyder, former counsel to the Assistant Attorney General

Gregory Werden, former Senior Economic Counsel

Robert D. Young, former trial attorney