

Matthew B. Geisel City Manager

October 17, 2023

Congresswoman Teresa Leger Fernández 1510 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20510 https://fernandez.house.gov/

RE: Support for H.R.1304/S. 595, the Pueblos of Jemez and Zia Water Rights Settlement Act of 2022 (Title II)

Dear Congresswoman Leger Fernández:

The City of Rio Rancho appreciates the opportunity to thank you for sponsoring H.R. 1304 that includes the Pueblos of Jemez and Zia Water Rights Settlement Act of 2022, and for your continued support of this important legislation. The Bill provides for Congressional approval of the Settlement Agreement for the determination of the water rights of the Pueblos of Jemez and Zia and provides multiple benefits for the region and area water users including the City of Rio Rancho. The City approved and is a signatory to the Settlement Agreement and wholeheartedly supports full approval of legislation by Congress to allow the settlement to move forward. The settlement resolves the Pueblos' water claims concluding longstanding litigation over those claims; protects the City's essential water rights for municipal purposes; and provides a collaborative basis to manage the vital and shared water resources of the Jemez Basin for all water users going forward.

We thank you for your representation of the City's interests and for your efforts to obtain Congressional approval of the Pueblos of Jemez and Zia Water Rights Settlement Act of 2022. We would welcome the opportunity to answer any questions you may have. You can contact us through our legal counsel copied on this letter.

Sincerely,

Marks CC

Matthew Geisel City Manager

Cc: James Green, james.green@mail.house.gov Matt Miller, matt.miller2@mail.house.gov Derrick Toledo, derrick.toledo@mail.house.gov Lauren Vernon, lauren.vernon@mail.house.gov Austin Yager, <u>Austin.Yager@mail.house.gov</u> Adeline DeYoung, <u>Adeline.DeYoung@mail.house.gov</u> Adeline DeYoung, <u>Adeline.DeYoung@mail.house.gov</u> Alanna Purdy Montesinos, <u>Alanna\_PurdyMontesinos@lujan.senate.gov</u> Levi Patterson, <u>Levi\_Patterson@lujan.senate.gov</u> Maya Hermann Maya, <u>Hermann@heinrich.senate.gov</u> Maria O'Brien, <u>mobrien@modrall.com</u>