SUBCOMMITTEE ON NATIONAL PARKS, FORESTS, AND PUBLIC LANDS

VIA CISCO WEBEX Thursday, February 3, 2022 10:00 a.m. (EST)

Agenda

Legislative Hearing on the following bills:

- <u>H.R. 6142</u> (Rep. Tim Ryan, D-OH), To amend the National Trails System Act to direct the Secretary of the Interior to conduct a study on the feasibility of designating the Buckeye Trail as a national scenic trail, and for other purposes. *Buckeye National Scenic Trail Feasibility Study Act of 2021*.
- H.R. 6199 (Rep. Jason Smith, R-MO), To revise the boundary of the Ste. Genevieve National Historical Park in the State of Missouri, and for other purposes. *Ste. Genevieve National Historical Park Boundary Revision Act.*
- <u>H.R. 6201</u> (Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman, D-NJ), To extend the authority for the establishment of a commemorative work to honor enslaved and free Black persons who served in the American Revolution, and for other purposes. *National Liberty Memorial Preservation Act*.
- <u>H.R. 6337</u> (Rep. Joe Neguse, D-CO), To require the Secretary of the Interior and the Secretary of Agriculture to develop long-distance bike trails on Federal land, and for other purposes. *Biking on Long-Distance Trails Act*.
- <u>H.R. 6434</u> (Rep. Jay Obernolte, R-CA), To direct the Secretary of the Interior to establish, within the National Park Service, the Japanese American World War II History Network, and for other purposes. *Japanese American World War II History Network Act*.
- H.R. 6435 (Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers, R-WA), To provide for the application of certain provisions of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act of 2000 for fiscal year 2021. SRS FY21 Technical Fix.
- <u>H.R. 6451</u> (**Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick, D-AZ**), To establish the Chiricahua National Park in the State of Arizona as a unit of the National Park System, and for other purposes. *Chiricahua National Park Act.* =

Witness List

Panel I

Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (H.R. 6435)

Washington, 5th District

Rep. Tim Ryan (H.R. 6142)

Ohio, 13th District

Rep. Jason Smith (H.R. 6199)

Missouri, 8th District

Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (H.R. 6201)

New Jersey, 12th District

Rep. Joe Neguse (H.R. 6337)

Colorado, 2nd District

Rep. Jay Obernolte (H.R. 6434)

California, 8th District

Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (H.R. 6451)

Arizona, 2nd District

Panel II

Herbert C. Frost (All Bills)

Regional Director for Interior Regions 3, 4, & 5 National Park Service

Panel III

Mr. Andrew Bashaw (H.R. 6142)

Executive Director

Buckeye Trail Association

Mr. Happy Welch (H.R. 6199)

City Administrator

Ste. Genevieve, Missouri

Mr. Maurice Barboza (H.R. 6201)

Founder Liberty Fund DC

Ms. Jen Hanks (H.R. 6337)

Board Member & Mountain Biking Advocate Southern Nevada Mountain Bike Association

Mr. Bruce Saito (H.R. 6434)

Chair

Friends of Manzanar

The Honorable Skip Brandt (H.R. 6435)

Commissioner Idaho County, Idaho