DAVID WATKINS STAFF DIRECTOR

U.S. House of Representatives

VIVIAN MOEGLEIN REPUBLICAN STAFF DIRECTOR

Committee on Natural Resources

Washington, DC 20515

SUBCOMMITTEE ON NATIONAL PARKS, FORESTS, AND PUBLIC LANDS

VIA CISCO WEBEX Tuesday, June 15, 2021 1:00 p.m. (EDT)

Agenda

Legislative Hearing on the following bills:

- <u>H.R. 1154</u> (**Rep. A. Donald McEachin**), To authorize the Secretary of the Interior to conduct a study to assess the suitability and feasibility of designating certain land as the Great Dismal Swamp National Heritage Area, and for other purposes. *Great Dismal Swamp National Heritage Area Act*.
- <u>H.R. 1286</u> (**Rep. James Clyburn**), To establish in the States of North Carolina and South Carolina the Southern Campaign of the Revolution National Heritage Corridor, and for other purposes. *Southern Campaign of the Revolution National Heritage Corridor Act of 2021*.
- <u>H.R. 1316</u> (**Rep. Paul Tonko**), To authorize a National Heritage Area Program, and for other purposes. *National Heritage Area Act of 2021*.
- <u>H.R. 1424</u> (**Rep. Stacey Plaskett**), To establish the St. Croix National Heritage Area, and for other purposes. *St. Croix National Heritage Area Act*.
- <u>H.R. 1908</u> (**Rep. Ed Case**), To authorize the Secretary of the Interior to conduct a study to assess the suitability and feasibility of designating certain land as the Ka'ena Point National Heritage Area, and for other purposes. *Ka'ena Point National Heritage Area Act*.
- <u>H.R. 1925</u> (Rep. Kaiali'i Kahele), To authorize the Secretary of the Interior to conduct a study to assess the suitability and feasibility of designating certain land as the South Kona National Heritage Area, and for other purposes. *South Kona National Heritage Area*.
- H.R. 2024 (Rep. Steny Hoyer), To establish the Southern Maryland National Heritage Area, and for other purposes. *Southern Maryland National Heritage Area Act*.
- H.R. 2107 (Rep. John Rutherford), To establish the Nation's Oldest Port National Heritage Area in the State of Florida, and for other purposes. *Nation's Oldest Port National Heritage Area Act*.
- <u>H.R. 2359</u> (**Rep. Henry Cuellar**), To authorize the Secretary of the Interior to conduct a study to assess the suitability and feasibility of designating certain lands as the Los Caminos del Rio National Heritage Corridor, and for other purposes.
- <u>H.R. 2899</u> (**Rep. Michael F. Q. San Nicolas**), To direct the Secretary of the Interior to conduct a study to assess the suitability and feasibility of designating areas within the island of Guam as a National Heritage Area, and for other purposes.
- <u>H.R. 3222</u> (**Rep. Terri Sewell**), To establish the Alabama Black Belt National Heritage Area, and for other purposes. *Alabama Black Belt National Heritage Area Act*.
- <u>H.R. 3616</u> (**Rep. Blake Moore**), To authorize the Secretary of the Interior to conduct a study to assess the suitability and feasibility of designating certain land as the Bear River National Heritage Area, and for other purposes. *Bear River National Heritage Area Study Act*.

Witness List

Panel I

Rep. A. Donald McEachin

Virginia, 4th District

Rep. James E. Clyburn

South Carolina, 6th District

Rep. Paul Tonko

New York, 20th District

Rep. Stacey Plaskett

Virgin Islands, At Large

Rep. Ed Case

Hawaii, 1st District

Rep. John Rutherford

Florida, 4th District

Rep. Henry Cuellar

Texas, 28th District

Rep. Michael San Nicolas

Guam, At Large

Rep. Blake Moore

Utah, 1st District

Rep. Kaiali'i Kahele

Hawaii. 2nd District

Panel II

Ms. Joy Beasley (All Bills)

Associate Director

Cultural Resources, Partnerships, and Science National Park Service

Panel III

Ms. Sara Capen (H.R. 1316)

Chairwoman

Alliance of National Heritage Areas

Executive Director

Niagara Falls National Heritage Area

Dr. Alexa Sutton Lawrence (H.R. 1154)

Founder

Great Dismal Swamp Stakeholder Collective

Mr. Douglas Bostick (H.R. 1286)

Executive Director

South Carolina Battlefield Preservation Trust

Ms. Suzanne D. Case (*H.R. 1908*)

Chair

Department of Land and Natural Resources State of Hawaii

Ms. Wendy J. Laros (*H.R. 1925*)

President & CEO

Kona-Kohala Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Lucille W. Walker (H.R. 2024)

Executive Director

Southern Maryland Heritage Area

Destination Southern Maryland

Ms. Kathy Fleming (H.R. 2107)

Executive Director

St. Augustine Lighthouse and Maritime Museum

Mr. Christopher Rincon (H.R. 2359)

Executive Director

The River Pierce Foundation

Mr. Joseph E. Quinata (H.R. 2899)

Chief Program Officer

Guam Preservation Trust

Ms. Emily Jones (*H.R. 3222*)

Southeast Regional Director

National Parks Conservation Association

Mr. Brian Carver (*H.R. 3616*)

Director

Community and Economic Development

Bear River Association of Governments