SIGNAL PEAK ENERGY, LLC

100 Portal Dr, Roundup, MT 59072

May 2, 2025

The Honorable Bruce Westerman Chairman, Committee on Natural Resources U.S. House of Representatives 1324 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Westerman:

As President of Signal Peak Energy LLC (SPE), I want to voice the support of our company, our workers and the local community for Section 80144 in the House Committee on Natural Resources Reconciliation Committee Print. SPE has been prevented from mining federal coal at the Bull Mountains Mine in Musselshell County, Montana since a February 2023 court order. Given the checkerboard ownership of the coal reserve, this court order has had the practical effect of halting production in the main area of the Bull Mountains Mine (containing federal, state, and private coal) while the Mine awaits the Office of Surface Mining and Reclamation Enforcement's (OSM) preparation of an Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) – the *fourth* review of SPE's mine plan under the National Environmental Policy Act since 2015. OSM initially represented to the court that an EIS would be complete by July 2024. OSM's review has been repeatedly delayed, and we do not expect final EIS approval until the beginning of 2026.

OSM's delay has significantly jeopardized the future of the Bull Mountains Mine. Section 80144 of the Committee Print will allow SPE to return to the main area of the Bull Mountains Mine and mine **specific** federal coal and, significantly, gain access to state and private coal which we have not been able to mine, while OSM completes the EIS process. In the absence of Section 80144, SPE will be forced to idle the Mine and lay off 260 workers later this year. These job losses will have a devastating impact on our local community and any cessation in operations at the Mine will result in the loss of tens of millions of dollars in tax and royalty revenues SPE pays to the United States and the State of Montana.

Sincerely,

Parker J. Phipps President / CEO

cc: Governor Greg Gianforte Senator Steve Daines

Senator Tim Sheehy

Representative Ryan Zinke

Representative Troy Downing