VIVIAN MOEGLEIN

REPUBLICAN STAFF DIRECTOR

DAVID WATKINS STAFF DIRECTOR

U.S. House of Representatives

Committee on Natural Resources Washington, DC 20515

COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES

VIA CISCO WEBEX Wednesday, April 14, 2021, 1:00 p.m. (EDT)

Agenda

Legislative hearing on the following pieces of legislation:

- <u>H.R. 1522</u> (Rep. Darren Soto), To provide for the admission of the State of Puerto Rico into the Union. *Puerto Rico Statehood Admission Act*.
- H.R. 2070 (Rep. Nydia Velázquez), To recognize the right of the People of Puerto Rico to call a status convention through which the people would exercise their natural right to self-determination, and to establish a mechanism for congressional consideration of such decision, and for other purposes. *Puerto Rico Self-Determination Act of 2021*.

Witness List

H.R. 1522, "Puerto Rico Statehood Admission Act"

The Hon. Pedro R. Pierluisi Governor of Puerto Rico San Juan, PR

Ms. Johanne Vélez-García

Vice President, Puerto Rico Democratic Party San Juan, PR

Mr. José Fuentes

Chair, Puerto Rico Statehood Council Washington, DC

Dr. Christina D. Ponsa-Kraus

Professor of Law, Columbia Law School New York, NY

H.R. 2070, "Puerto Rico Self-Determination Act of 2021"

The Hon. Aníbal Acevedo-Vilá

Former Governor, Popular Democratic Party San Juan, PR

The Hon. Rafael Hernández

Speaker, Puerto Rico House of Representatives San Juan, PR

The Hon. María de Lourdes Santiago

Senator, Puerto Rico Independence Party San Juan, PR

The Hon. Manuel Natal-Albelo

President, Citizens Victory Movement San Juan, PR