

April 14th, 2021

The Honorable Frank Pallone Chairman House Committee on Energy and Commerce 2125 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Ranking Member House Committee on Energy and Commerce 2322 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Pallone and Ranking Member McMorris Rodgers:

We deeply appreciate the House Committee on Energy and Commerce's inclusion of H.R. 2021 the Environmental Justice for All Act in the legislative hearing on Thursday, April 15, 2021 entitled, "The CLEAN Future Act and Environmental Justice: Protecting Frontline Communities." In light of President Biden's commitment to furthering environmental justice, we are writing in support of the Environmental Justice for All Act.

The Environmental Justice for All Act is comprehensive legislation focused on achieving health equity and climate justice for all, particularly underserved communities and communities of color that have long been disproportionately harmed by environmental injustices and toxic pollutants. This bill builds on existing provisions such as the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as well as the Clinton Administration's Environmental Justice Executive Order, while also pushing for new measures such as including the consideration of cumulative impacts and establishing environmental justice grant programs.

In order for our Nation to emerge from this deadly pandemic stronger than we were before, we must confront the fact that communities of color face public health challenges—which also make them more susceptible to the effects of the deadly COVID-19 virus—at alarming rates while too many in power look the other way. This comprehensive approach to environmental justice is what makes this bill essential legislation. We thank you in advance for considering the Environmental Justice for All Act, and your help in getting H.R. 2021, and its Senate companion, S. 872, to President Biden's desk.

Sincerely,

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Tammyllehutt

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Ron Wyden



Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Alex Padilla

United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

hichel Blemen Pref

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator