ONE HUNDRED SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS

Congress of the United States House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND COMMERCE 2125 RAYBURN HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING WASHINGTON, DC 20515-6115

> Majority (202) 225-2927 Minority (202) 225-3641

June 13, 2022

SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATIONS AND TECHNOLOGY

MARKUP NOTICE

TO: Members, Subcommittee on Communications and Technology

FROM: Mike Doyle, Chairman

SUBJECT: Subcommittee on Communications and Technology Markup, Wednesday,

June 15, 2022

The Subcommittee on Communications and Technology of the Committee on Energy and Commerce will meet in a **hybrid open markup session** on **Wednesday**, **June 15**, **2022**, **at 10:15 a.m. (EDT)**, and subsequent days as necessary, to consider the following legislation:

- **H.R. 4275**, the "Ensuring Phone and Internet Access for SNAP Recipients Act of 2021" (*Reps. Luria (D-VA) and Katko (R-NY) on 06/30/2021*)
- **H.R. 4990**, the "Institute for Telecommunication Sciences Codification Act" or the "ITS Codification Act" (*Rep. Carter (R-GA) on 08/10/2021*)
- **H.R. 5400**, the "Preventing Disruptions to Universal Service Funds Act" (*Reps. Hayes (D-CT) and Veasey (D-TX) on 09/28/2021*)
- **H.R. 5486**, the "Simplifying Management, Reallocation, and Transfer of Spectrum Act" or the "SMART Act" (*Rep. Guthrie (R-KY) on 10/05/2021*)
- **H.R. 7132**, the "Safe Connections Act of 2022" (*Reps. Kuster (D-NH) and Eshoo (D-CA) on 03/17/2022*)
- **H.R. 7624**, the "Spectrum Innovation Act of 2022" (*Rep. Doyle (D-PA) and 20 bipartisan original cosponsors on 04/28/2022*)
- H.R. 7783, the "Extending America's Spectrum Auction Leadership Act of 2022" (*Reps. Davids (D-KS), Joyce (R-PA), Welch (D-VT), and Johnson (R-OH) on 05/16/2022*)

This markup will take place in the John D. Dingell Room, 2123 of the Rayburn House Office Building, as well as remotely using Cisco WebEx online video conferencing. Members will receive

WebEx participant access information by email before the markup. No staff from member's offices will be allowed in the Committee room. However, one staffer from each members' office may join the markup remotely as an attendee on WebEx. Each designated staff attendee should register at the provided link by no later than Tuesday, June 14, 2022, at 5 p.m. (EDT). The public may view this markup via live webcast on the Committee's website: http://energycommerce.house.gov.

For members planning to attend in-person, the Committee notes that this markup is being held during the COVID-19 pandemic, therefore the Committee will adhere to the greatest extent possible to the safety guidelines issued by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Attending Physician of the Capitol. Guidelines regarding the conduct of this markup were previously distributed.

The bipartisan staff briefing for this markup will be held using Microsoft Teams on Tuesday, June 14, 2022, at 3 p.m. (EDT). The Democratic staff briefing will be held immediately following the bipartisan briefing. The Republican staff briefing will be announced separately. Information for these briefings will be sent out later this week.

As previously announced, amendments submitted at least four hours in advance will be granted priority consideration in markup. Amendments should be submitted in PDF format by email to the following Committee staff members: Chloe Rodriguez (chloe.rodriguez@mail.house.gov) and Perry Hamilton (perry.hamilton@mail.house.gov).

Any information with respect to an amendment's parliamentary standing (e.g., its germaneness) should be submitted at the same time. The briefing memorandum and a copy of the committee print is attached. A link to electronic copies of documents for this markup may be obtained here.

If you have any questions, please contact Joe Orlando with the Committee staff at joe.orlando@mail.house.gov.

Currently the U.S. House of Representatives Office Buildings, as well as the U.S. Capitol complex, are closed to the public. Official meetings of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, or its subcommittees, are broadcast and available on the Committee's website: www.energycommerce.house.gov.