## Committee on Energy and Commerce U.S. House of Representatives Witness Disclosure Requirement - "Truth in Testimony" Required by House Rule XI, Clause 2(g)(5)

1.	Your Name:					
L	John S. Meigs, Jr., MD					
2.	Your Title: President					
3.	The Entity(ies) You are Representing: American Academy of Family Physicians					
4.	Are you testifying on behalf of the Federal, or a State or local government entity?	Yes	No			
5.	Please list any Federal grants or contracts, or contracts or payments origin foreign government, that you or the entity(ies) you represent have received January 1, 2013. Only grants, contracts, or payments related to the subject the hearing must be listed. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services	d on or	after			
	Transforming Clinical Practices Inititative Health Services and Resources Administration					
6.	Please attach your curriculum vitae to your completed disclosure form.	And and a second s				
Sig	nDate:11/2	28/16	nyhten av an			
			1			



Á Á

## John Meigs, Jr, MD, FAAP

Iqj p'O gki u. 'It0'O F. 'HCCHR.'c'hco kn{'r j {ukekcp'kp'Egpvtgxkng.'Cncdco c. 'ku'r tgukf gpv'qh'y g'' Co gtkecp'Cecf go {"qh'Hco kn{ 'Rj {ukekcpu0Rtgxkqwun{.'j g'ugtxgf "qpg"{gct"cu'r tgukf gpv/grgev.'hqwt'' {gctu'cu'ur gcngt"cpf 'y tgg"{gctu'cu'xkeg'ur gcngt"qh'y g''CCHRøu'i qxgtpkpi ''dqf {.''y g''Eqpi tguu''qh'' F gngi cvgu0'Vj g''CCHR'tgr tgugpvu''346.; 22''r j {ukekcpu'cpf ''o gf kecn'uwf gpvu''pcvkqpy kf g0'

Cu'r tgulf gpv'qh'y g'CCHR. 'O gli u'cf xqecvgu''qp''dgj crh''qh'hco ln{ 'r j {ukelcpu''cpf 'r cvlgpvu'' pcvlqpy lf g''vq''lpur ltg'r qukskxg''ej cpi g''lp'' j g'WUUj gcnj ''ectg''u{uvgo 0'

O gki u'y cu'kp'r tkxcvg'r tcevkeg'kp'Egpvtgxkmg. 'Cncdco c.'j ku'j qo gvqy p.'htqo '3; : 4'vq'42350'Kp'' 4235.'j g'o gti gf 'y kj 'cpqvj gt'r tcevkeg'vq'dgeqo g'c'r ctv'qh'Dkdd'O gf kecn'Cuuqekcvgu.'y j kej 'ku'' j qwugf 'kp'c'enkpke''cv'Dkdd'O gf kecn'Egpvgt.''c''47/dgf 'twtcn'j qur kcn'kp'Egpvtgxkmg0J g''cnuq'ugtxgu'' cu'ej kgh'qh'uvchh'cv'Dkdd'O gf kecn'Egpvgt0'

C''o go dgt''qh'y g'CCHR''ukpeg''3; 9; .'O gki u'j cu''ugtxgf ''qp''pwo gtqwu''eqo o kuukqpu''cpf " eqo o kwggu.''kpenwf kpi ''y g''Uekgpvkhke''Cuugo dn{ ''Tguqnwkqpu''Eqo o kwgg''cpf ''y g''Eqo o kwgg''qp'' Twtcn'J geny 0J g''enuq''ku''c''r cuv'o go dgt''cpf ''ej ckt''qh''y g''CCHR''Eqo o kuukqp''qp''J geny ''qh''y g'' Rwdnke0'Rtkqt''vq''j ku''vgto u''cu''ur gengt''cpf ''xkeg''ur gengt''qh''y g''Eqpi tguu''qh'F grgi cvgu.''j g'j cf '' ugtxgf ''cu''Credco cøu''f grgi cvg''qt''enugtpcvg''f grgi cvg''vq''y g''Eqpi tguu''ukpeg''3; ; 80'

O gki u'ku'cp''cevkxg''o go dgt''qh'y g'Credco c'Cecf go {''qh'Hco kn{''Rj {ukekcpu0J g''ugtxgf ''qp''ku'' dqctf ''qh'f ktgevqtu.''kpenwf kpi ''vgto u''cu'' tgukf gpv'grgev.''r tgukf gpv'cpf ''dqctf ''ej ckt0J g''cnq'j cu'' ugtxgf ''qp''y g'Credco c''CHRøu'Gzgewkxg'Eqo o kwgg''cpf ''ej cktgf ''dqyj ''y g''Rwdrke'T grevkqpu'' Eqo o kwgg''cpf ''Gf wecvkqp''Eqo o kwgg0O gki u''cnq''y cu''xkeg''r tgukf gpv'qh'y g''Credco c''Cecf go {'' qh'Hco kn{''Rj {ukekcpu''Hqwpf cvkqp.''y g''ej ctkcdrg''cto ''qh'y g''qti cpk cvkqp.''htqo ''4225'vq''422: 0'

C'hqto gt'ur gcngt''qh'y g''J qwug''qh'F gngi cvgu''cpf ''Eqngi g''qh'Eqwpugnţtu'hqt''y g'O gf kecn' Cuuqekcvkqp''qh'y g''Ucvg''qh'Crcdco c.''O gki u''ewttgpvn{ ''ugtxgu''cu''c ''o go dgt''qh'ku'Dqctf ''qh'' Egpuqtu016p''cf f kkqp.''j g''ku''c ''o go dgt''qh'y g'Crcdco c''Dqctf ''qh'O gf kecn'Gzco kpgtu''cpf ''y g''ej ckt'' qh'y g''Ucvg''Eqo o kvgg''qp''Rwdnke''J gcny 0'J g''cnuq''ugtxgu''qp''y g''Crcdco c''Hco kn{ ''Rtcevkeg''Twtcn' J gcny 'Dqctf ''cpf ''y g''Crcdco c''Dqctf ''qh'O gf kecn'Uej qrctuj kru0'

President	President-elect	Board Chair	Directors	
Wanda Filer, MD	John Meigs, Jr., MD	Robert L. Wergin, MD	Yushu "Jack" Chou, MD, Baldwin Park, CA	John Bender, MD, Fort Collins, CO
York, PA	Brent, AL	Milford, NE	Robert A. Lee, MD, Johnston, IA	Gary LeRoy, MD, Dayton, OH
			Michael Munger, MD, Overland Park, KS	Carl Olden, MD, Yakima, WA
Speaker	Vice Speaker	Executive Vice President	Mott Blair, IV, MD, Wallace, NC	Marie-Elizabeth Ramas, MD, (New Physician Member), Mount Shasta, C
Javette C. Orgain, MD	Alan Schwartzstein, MD	Douglas E. Henley, MD	John Cullen, MD, Valdez, AK	Richard Bruno, MD, (Resident Member), Baltimore, MD
Chicago, IL	Oregon, WI	Leawood, KS	Lynne Lillie, MD, Woodbury, MN	Tiffany Ho (Student Member), Baltimore, MD

Meigs is a clinical associate professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, and a clinical professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Alabama School of Medicine, Birmingham. In 2003, he was awarded the University of Alabama School of Medicine Argus Award for Best Attending Physician in Family Medicine. Meigs also serves as adjunct clinical faculty for the Cahaba Family Medicine Residency Program in his home town of Centreville. In 2014, he was inducted into the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame.

An active member of his community, Meigs serves on the Board of Directors of Distinguished Young Women of Bibb County, a scholarship program for high school senior girls. He was president of that organization from 1995 to 2015. In 2004, he was named Bibb County Citizen of the Year by the Kiwanis Club of Centreville.

Meigs earned his Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry from the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, and his medical degree from the University of South Alabama, Mobile. He completed his family medicine residency at the University of Alabama Birmingham Selma Family Practice Residency Program in Selma, Alabama, where he also served as chief resident.

Meigs is board certified by the American Board of Family Medicine. He has the AAFP Degree of Fellow, an earned degree awarded to family physicians for distinguished service and continuing medical education.