

June 28, 2017

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman Energy and Commerce Committee, Subcommittee on Energy U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Bobby Rush Ranking Member Energy and Commerce Committee, Subcommittee on Energy U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Upton and Ranking Member Rush:

On behalf of the National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO), we offer our strong support of the *Enhancing State Energy Security Planning and Emergency Preparedness Act of 2017* (H.R. 3050). The 56, governor-designated State and Territory Energy Offices have a history of supporting their governors' efforts to prepare for, respond to, and mitigate the impacts of energy emergencies. The goals and provisions of the act, including strengthening the required state energy security plan under the U.S. State Energy Program, prioritization of energy emergency preparedness, and the emphasis on taking an "all hazards" and "all fuels" approach – addressing electricity, petroleum products, natural gas, propane, coal, and other fuels – reflects the best practices NASEO's members have advanced in this critical national energy security area.

Of equal importance is the reauthorization of appropriations for the U.S. State Energy Program (SEP). NASEO strongly supports the \$90 million contained in H.R. 3050. The states' history of wisely using and leveraging SEP funds to support both the energy priorities of their governors and the national energy goals established by Congress is well documented.

We greatly appreciate your leadership in advancing the critical national energy security issues addressed in H.R. 3050, and we look forward to working with you in the coming weeks as the act progresses.

Best regards,



David Terry Executive Director, NASEO 2107 Wilson Boulevard Suite 850 Arlington, Virginia 22201

Telephone: 703.299.8800 Facsimile: 703.299.6208 www.naseo.org

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

#### Chai

ROBERT JACKSON Michigan

#### Vice Chair

ANDREW MCALLISTER California

### Treasurer

WILLIAM (DUB) TAYLOR
Texas

# Secretary

MOLLY CRIPPS
Tennessee

### **Parliamentarian**

PAUL MILLER Louisiana

#### Past Chair

VAUGHN CLARK Oklahoma

### **Regional Representatives**

JUDITH JUDSON Massachusetts

JOHN WILLIAMS New York

TOMMY WELLS

District of Columbia

MARISA SLATEN
New Jersey

DAVID GIPSON Georgia

KELLEY SMITH BURK Florida

TRISTAN VANCE Indiana

MARIA REDMOND Wisconsin

DAVID BRACHT Nebraska

LAURA ANDERSEN Montana

LAURA NELSON Utah

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

### Affiliates' Co-Chair

ANNA PAVLOVA Schneider Electric

MEREDITH TUNICK Bosch

## **Executive Director**

DAVID TERRY

## **General Counsel**

JEFFREY C. GENZER