MARTIN J. O'MALLEY, Esq.

Commissioner of the Social Security Administration, December 20, 2023 – November 29, 2024

Governor of Maryland, January 17, 2007 to January 21, 2015.

Chair, Board of Public Works, 2007-15. Chair, Governor's Executive Council, 2007-15; Chesapeake Executive Council, 2007-08, 2013-15 (member, 2007-15); State House Trust, 2007-15; P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland, 2007-15. Member, Commission on Civic Literacy, 2007-12; Anacostia Watershed Restoration Partnership, Leadership Council, 2007-15; State Commission on the Capital City, 2007-15. Board of Trustees, Maryland Environmental Trust, 2007-15. Member, Rural Maryland Council, 2007-15; Maryland Veterans Home Commission, 2007-15; Governor's Workforce Investment Board, 2007-15. Member, Appalachian Regional Commission, 2007-15; Education Commission of the States, 2007-15 (Maryland Education Council); Interstate Mining Compact Commission, 2007-15 (chair, 2011); Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission, 2007-15; Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin, 2007-15; Southern Regional Education Board, 2007-15; Southern States Energy Board, 2007-15; Susquehanna River Basin Commission, 2007-15.

Member, Mid-Atlantic Regional Council on the Ocean, 2009-15. Member, Maryland Health Care Reform Coordinating Council, 2010; Task Force to Study the Laws and Policies relating to Representation of Indigent Criminal Defendants by the Office of the Public Defender, 2012-14.

Co-Chair, Council of Governors, 2013-15 (member, 2010-15). Member, Task Force on Climate Preparedness and Resilience, 2013-15.

Member, Prince George's Forward Task Force, 2020-21.

Commissioner, Social Security Administration, since December 2023.

Assistant State's Attorney, Baltimore City, 1988-90.

Member, City Council, Baltimore City, representing 3rd District, 1991-99 (chair, legislative investigations committee; chair, taxation & finance committee).

Mayor of Baltimore, Maryland, December 7, 1999 to January 17, 2007. Member, Advisory Council for Port Land-Use Development, 1999-2005; Board of Estimates, Baltimore City, 1999-2007. Board of Directors, Baltimore Metropolitan Council, 1999-2007 (chair, 2004; vice-chair, 2003). Member, Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 1999-2007. Board of Directors, Maryland African American Museum Corporation, 1999-2007. Board of Visitors, R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma

Center, University of Maryland Medical System, 1999-2007. Member, Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, Baltimore City, 1999-2015.

Co-Chair, Task Force on Federal-Local Law Enforcement, 2001-07, and Chair, Homeland Security Task Force, 2003-07, U.S. Conference of Mayors. Chair, International Task Force, National League of Cities, 2005-07.

Born in District of Columbia, January 18, 1963. Attended Gonzaga College High School, Washington DC; Catholic University of America, B.A., 1985; University of Maryland School of Law, J.D., 1988. Admitted to Maryland Bar, 1988. Attorney. Member, Maryland State Bar Association. State field director, "Mikulski for Senate" campaign, 1986. Legislative fellow with U.S. Senator Barbara A. Mikulski, 1987-88. Board of Trustees, Walters Art Museum, 1999-2015. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012 (co-chair, rules committee, 2012). Board of Directors, Maryland Municipal League, 2006-07. Member, Maryland Association of Counties (legislative committee). Honorary Chair, Board of Trustees, Baltimore City Historical Society, 2002-07. Honorary member, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore, 2002-07. State Chair, Hillary Rodham Clinton Maryland Presidential Campaign, 2007-08. Member, National Governors Association (public safety task force, 2007-09; co-chair, homeland security task force, 2008-09; Governors' Wind Energy Coalition, 2008-15; co-chair, homeland security & public safety task force, 2010-15). Chair, Democratic Governors Association, 2010-12 (vice-chair, 2008-10; finance chair, 2007-08). Visiting Professor (government, business & urban issues), Carey Business School, The Johns Hopkins University, 2015-. Senior Fellow, MetroLab Network, 2016- (chair, advisory council, 2016-). Fellow, Institute of Politics and Public Service, Georgetown University, 2016-. Jerome Lyle Rappaport Visiting Professor, Boston College School of Law, 2017. Board of Directors, CollegeBound Foundation. Member, Friendly Sons of St. Patrick. Urban Innovation Award, Manhattan Institute for Policy Research, 2002. Award for Public Service, Center for Irish Programs, Boston College, 2002. National Award for Local Arts Leadership, U.S. Conference of Mayors, 2004. Leadership Award, Energy Efficiency Forum, United States Energy Association, 2005. Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, 2007. Award, Progressive Maryland, 2007. Sportsmen's Best Friend of the Year Award, Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Foundation, 2008. Leadership in Government Award, Keystone Center, 2008. Maryland Citizens' Health Initiative Courageous Leadership Award, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Awards Committee, 2009. National Leadership Award, Stem Cell Action Awards, Genetics Policy Institute, 2009. Champion for Children Award, Maryland Interagency Coordinating Council, 2009. Maryland Climate Leadership Award, Chesapeake Climate Action Network, 2009. Public Officials of the Year, Governing Magazine, 2009. Legislative Award, Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence, 2009.

Recognized for leadership on environmental issues, Chesapeake Bay Foundation, 2009. National Technology Champion Award, National Association of State Chief Information Officers, 2010. Governor of the Year Award, Biotechnology Industry Organization, 2010. Most Distinguished Leader of the Year for Minority Business Enterprise, Maryland-Washington Minority Contractors' Association, 2010. America's Greatest Education Governor Award, National Education Association, 2010. Minority Contractors Champion Award, Maryland Minority Contractors Association, 2010. Policymaker of the Year, Data Quality Campaign, 2010. Defender of the Middle Class Award, Mid-Atlantic Regional Council of Carpenters, 2011. Executive Branch Award, Maryland Access to Justice Commission, 2011. Public Supporter of the Year, Partnership to End Childhood Hunger in Maryland, 2011. DeStefano Service Award, YWCA of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County, 2011. Distinguished Graduate Award, University of Maryland School of Law, 2011. Vision Award, Arbor Day Foundation, 2012. Conservation Achievement Award, National Wildlife Federation, 2012. Herschel Vision Award, Jews United for Justice, 2012. Rita C. Davidson Award, Women's Bar Association of Maryland, 2012. Ann Miller Anti-Hunger Award, & Publis Supporter of the Year, Maryland Food Bank, 2013. Climate Visionary Award, League of Conservation Voters, 2013. Public Supporter of the Year, Maryland Food Bank, 2014. Ann Miller Anti-Hunger Leader Award, Maryland Food Bank, 2014. Inductee, Irish American Hall of Fame, 2014. Capitol Dome Award, Cancer Action Network, American Cancer Society, 2014. Betty Tyler Award, Planned Parenthood of Maryland, 2014. Lifetime Leadership Award, Maryland Affordable Housing Coalition, 2014. Leaders of Democracy Award, Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial Foundation, 2014. Reginald V. Truitt Environmental Award, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science, 2014. Cybersecurity Leadership and Innovation Achievement Award, Center for Digital Government, 2014. Member, St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church, Baltimore, Maryland. Married; four children.