## **Committee on Oversight and Accountability**

## **Business Meeting Summary – 1-10-2024**

Convened: 10:03 a.m.
Recessed: 12:59 p.m.
Reconvened: 2:35 p.m.
Recessed: 4:58 p.m.
Reconvened: 5:23 p.m.
Adjourned: 5:41 p.m.

**Members present:** Comer, Jordan, Turner, Gosar, Foxx, Grothman, Cloud, Palmer, Higgins, Session, Biggs, Mace, LaTurner, Fallon, Donalds, Perry, Timmons, Burchett, Greene, McClain, Fry, Luna, Langworthy, Burlison, Waltz, Raskin, Norton, Lynch, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Khanna, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Porter, Bush, Gomez, Brown, Stansbury, Garcia, Frost, Lee, Casar, Crockett, Goldman, Moskowitz, and Tlaib.

## Report, H.Res. (Comer), RESOLUTION RECOMMENDING THAT THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES FIND ROBER HUNTER BIDEN IN CONTEMPT OF CONGRESS FOR REFUSAL TO COMPLY WITH A SUBPOENA DULY ISSUED BY THE COMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT AND ACCOUNTABILITY

A Report on the Resolution, H.Res. \_\_\_\_\_, "recommending that the House of Representatives find Robert Hunter Biden in Contempt of Congress for refusal to comply with a subpoena duly issued by the Committee on Oversight and Accountability."

- 1. Mr. Comer offered an amendment in the nature of a substitute (ANS) making certain technical edits. The amendment in the nature of a substitute passed by voice vote.
- **2.** Mr. Raskin asked unanimous consent to enter a Newsweek article into the record. Mr. Perry objected. Mr. Raskin requested a Roll Call vote. The unanimous consent request failed by a Roll Call vote of 10-19 (Vote #1).

YEAS: Raskin, Norton, Porter, Garcia, Frost, Casar, Crockett, Goldman, Moskowitz, Tlaib.

**NAYS:** Comer, Gosar, Foxx, Grothman, Cloud, Sessions, Biggs, Mace, LaTurner, Fallon, Perry, Timmons, Burchett, Greene, McClain, Fry, Luna, Burlison, Waltz.

3. Mr. Raskin motioned to appeal the ruling of the Chair regarding a unanimous consent request to enter into the record an exhibit offered by Ms. Greene. Mr. Gosar called to table the motion of Mr. Raskin to appeal the ruling of the Chair. A Roll Call vote was held. The motion to table was approved by a Roll Call vote of 21-15 (Vote #2)

**YEAS:** Comer, Gosar, Foxx, Grothman, Cloud, Palmer, Higgins, Sessions, Biggs, LaTurner, Fallon, Donalds, Perry, Timmons, Burchett, Greene, McClain, Fry, Luna, Burlison, Waltz.

**NAYS:** Raskin, Norton, Lynch, Connolly, Khanna, Porter, Bush, Garcia, Frost, Lee, Casar, Crockett, Goldman, Moskowitz, Tlaib.

**4.** Mr. Goldman offered an amendment to the ANS to strike the draft Resolution and contents of the Report and insert a resolution asserting that Hunter Biden complied with Congress. The amendment failed by a Roll Call vote of 18-22 (Vote #3).

**YEAS:** Raskin, Norton, Lynch, Krishnamoorthi, Khanna, Ocasio-Cortez, Porter, Gomez, Brown, Stansbury, Garcia, Frost, Lee, Casar, Crockett, Goldman, Moskowitz, Tlaib.

**NAYS:** Comer, Gosar, Grothman, Cloud, Palmer, Higgins, Sessions, Biggs, Mace, LaTurner, Fallon, Donalds, Perry, Timmons, Burchett, Greene, McClain, Fry, Luna, Langworthy, Burlison, Waltz.

- 5. Mr. Raskin offered an amendment to the ANS to strike the draft Resolution and contents of the Report and insert a resolution to shift the deadline for Hunter Biden to comply with the Committee's subpoena to December 13, 2023. It further stated that Mr. Jordan, Mr. Biggs, and Mr. Perry failed to comply with a duly issued subpoena of the House of Representatives and that the aforementioned Members shall be ineligible to vote on matters pertaining to contempt of Congress until they comply with their January 6th subpoenas. The amendment was ruled not germane by the Chair. The motion from Mr. Raskin to appeal the ruling of the Chair was tabled by voice vote.
- 6. Mr. Garcia offered an amendment to the ANS to strike the draft Resolution and contents of the Report and insert a new resolution requiring former President Trump to pay \$7,886,072 to the U.S. Treasury and ordering the Committee to issue a subpoena to Affinity Management to produce documents relating to business activities. The amendment was ruled not germane by the Chair. The motion from Mr. Raskin to appeal the ruling of the Chair was tabled by voice vote.
- 7. Mr. Frost offered an amendment to the ANS to strike Section B in the Report and add a new section to the Report asserting that Chairman Comer has distorted information about President Biden. The amendment failed by a Roll Call vote of 20-24 (Vote #4).

**YEAS:** Raskin, Norton, Lynch, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Khanna, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Porter, Gomez, Brown, Stansbury, Garcia, Frost, Lee, Casar, Crockett, Goldman, Moskowitz, Tlaib.

**NAYS:** Comer, Turner, Gosar, Foxx, Grothman, Cloud, Palmer, Higgins, Sessions, Biggs, Mace, LaTurner, Fallon, Donalds, Perry, Timmons, Burchett, Greene, McClain, Fry, Luna, Langworthy, Burlison, Waltz.

- **8.** Ms. Stansbury offered an amendment to the ANS to strike the Background section of the Report and replace it with findings summarizing the evidence produced so far to the Committee and assert that the evidence has identified no wrongdoing by President Biden. The amendment was ruled not germane by the Chair. A motion from Mr. Raskin to appeal the ruling of the Chair was table by voice vote.
- 9. Ms. Crockett offered an amendment to the ANS to strike Section A of the Report, which summarizes how the Committee is seeking information from Hunter Biden central to the investigative purpose of the impeachment inquiry and adds findings asserting that Chairman Comer has misrepresented certain witness testimony. The amendment failed by a Roll Call vote of 20-24 (Vote #5).

**YEAS:** Raskin, Norton, Lynch, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Khanna, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Porter, Gomez, Brown, Stansbury, Garcia, Frost, Lee, Casar, Crockett, Goldman, Moskowitz, Tlaib.

**NAYS:** Comer, Turner, Gosar, Foxx, Grothman, Cloud, Palmer, Higgins, Sessions, Biggs, Mace, LaTurner, Fallon, Donalds, Perry, Timmons, Burchett, Greene, McClain, Fry, Luna, Langworthy, Burlison, Waltz.

The Report on the Resolution, H.Res. \_\_\_\_\_, as amended, was ordered favorably reported by a Roll Call vote of 25-21 (Vote #6).

**YEAS:** Comer, Jordan, Turner, Gosar, Foxx, Grothman, Cloud, Palmer, Higgins, Sessions, Biggs, Mace, LaTurner, Fallon, Donalds, Perry, Timmons, Burchett, Greene, McClain, Fry, Luna, Langworthy, Burlison, Waltz.

**NAYS:** Raskin, Norton, Lynch, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Khanna, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Porter, Bush, Gomez, Brown, Stansbury, Garcia, Frost, Lee, Casar, Crockett, Goldman, Moskowitz, Tlaib.