Committee on Oversight and Reform

Business Meeting Summary – 6/14-15/2022

Convened:	12:41p.m. 6-14-2022
Recessed:	2:04 p.m.
Reconvened:	3:11 p.m.
Recessed:	4:52 p.m.

Reconvened:	10:04 a.m. 6-15-2022
Adjourned:	11:18 a.m.

Members Present: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Khanna, Mfume,Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Davis, Wasserman Schultz, Welch, Johnson Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley, Comer, Jordan, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Sessions, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, LaTurner, Fallon, Herrell, and Donalds.

H.R. 4176, the LGBTQ+ Data Inclusion Act

1. Ms. Maloney offered an amendment in the nature of a substitute (ANS), which was agreed to by a voice vote.

a. Mr. Biggs offered an Amendment (#1) to the ANS, which failed by Roll Call Vote of 16-24.

YEAS: Comer, Foxx, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, LaTurner, Fallon, Herrell, and Donalds.

NAYS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Khanna, Mfume,Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Davis, Wasserman Schultz, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

b. Mr. Cloud offered an Amendment (#1) to the ANS, which failed by Roll Call Vote of 16-22.

YEAS: Comer, Foxx, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, LaTurner, Fallon, Herrell, and Donalds.

NAYS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Davis, Wasserman Schultz, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

c. Mr. Cloud offered an Amendment (#2) to the ANS, which failed by Roll Call Vote of 16-23.

YEAS: Comer, Foxx, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, LaTurner, Fallon, Herrell, and Donalds.

NAYS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Mfume,Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Davis, Wasserman Schultz, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

d. Mr. Grothman offered an Amendment (#1) to the ANS, which failed by Roll Call Vote of 16-23.

YEAS: Comer, Foxx, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, LaTurner, Fallon, Herrell, and Donalds.

NAYS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Davis, Wasserman Schultz, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

H.R. 4176, as amended, was ordered favorably reported to the House by A Roll Call vote of 23-16.

YEAS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Davis, Wasserman Schultz, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

NAYS: Comer, Foxx, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, LaTurner, Fallon, Herrell, and Donalds.

[U.C. for the record Offered by Ms. Maloney –4 letters of support of H.R. 4176] {U.C. for the record from Mr. Comer – 18 letters]

H.R. 7951, THE TELEWORK METRICS AND COST SAVINGS ACT

1. Ms. Maloney offered an amendment in the nature of a substitute (ANS), which was agreed to by a voice vote.

a. Ms. Herrell offered an Amendment (#1) to the ANS, which failed by Roll Call Vote of 14-20.

YEAS: Comer, Jordan, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, Fallon, and Donalds.

NAYS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Raskin, Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Wasserman Schultz, Johnson, Sarbanes, Speier, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

b. Mr. Biggs offered an Amendment (#1) to the ANS, which failed by Roll Call Vote of 15-22.

YEAS: Comer, Jordan, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, Fallon, Herrell, and Donalds.

NAYS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Wasserman Schultz, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Speier, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

c. Mr. Biggs offered an Amendment (#2) to the ANS, which failed by Roll Call Vote of 15-22.

YEAS: Comer, Foxx, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, Laturner, Fallon, and Donalds.

NAYS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Wasserman Schultz, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

H.R. 7951, as amended, was ordered favorably reported to the House by A Roll Call vote of 23-16.

YEAS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Khanna, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Wasserman Schultz, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

NAYS: Comer, Jordan, Foxx, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, LaTurner, Fallon, and Donalds.

[U.C. for the record Offered by Mr. Connolly]

H.R. 7941, "TO AMEND THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA HOME RULE ACT TO PERMIT THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA TO TRANSMIT ACTS OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA TO CONGRESS IN ELECTRONIC FORM;"

1. Ms. Maloney offered an amendment in the nature of a substitute (ANS), which was agreed to by a voice vote.

H.R. 7941, as amended, was ordered favorably reported to the House by Roll Call vote of 22-17.

YEAS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Khanna, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

NAYS: Comer, Jordan, Foxx, Hice, Grothman, Cloud, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Sessions, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, LaTurner, Fallon, and Donalds.

H.R. 5815, the Honest Census Communications Act

1. Ms. Maloney offered an amendment in the nature of a substitute (ANS), which was agreed to by a voice vote.

H.R. 5815, as amended, was ordered favorably reported to the House by Roll Call vote of 22-16.

YEAS: Maloney, Norton, Lynch, Cooper, Connolly, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Khanna, Mfume, Ocasio-Cortez, Tlaib, Porter, Bush, Brown, Welch, Johnson, Sarbanes, Kelly, Lawrence, DeSaulnier, Gomez, and Pressley.

NAYS: Comer, Jordan, Foxx, Hice, Grothman, Gibbs, Higgins, Norman, Sessions, Keller, Biggs, Clyde, Franklin, LaTurner, Fallon, and Donalds.

<u>POSTAL NAMINGS – THE FOLLOWING POSTAL NAMING MEASURES WERE</u> <u>ORDERED FAVORABLY REPORTED TO THE HOUSE EN BLOC BY UNANIMOUS</u> <u>CONSENT.</u>

- H.R. 6218, "To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 317 Blattner Drive in Avon, Minnesota, as the 'W.O.C. Kort Miller Plantenberg Post Office.""
- 2. H.R. 6220, "To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 100 3rd Avenue Northwest in Perham, Minnesota, as the 'Charles P. Nord Post Office.""
- H.R. 6221, "To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 155 Main Avenue West in Winsted, Minnesota, as the 'James A. Rogers Jr. Post Office."
- 4. H.R. 7518, "To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 23200 John R Road in Hazel Park, Michigan, as the 'Roy E. Dickens Post Office.""
- 5. H.R. 7519, "To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 2050 South Boulevard in Bloomfield Township, Michigan, as the 'Dr. Ezra S. Parke Post Office Building."
- H.R.7899, "To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 75 Commerce Drive in Grayslake, Illinois, as the 'Army Specialist Joseph "Joey" W. Dimock II Post Office Building."