Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

Markup Summary – May 23, 2018

Convened: 2:47 p.m. Adjourned: 6:01 p.m. Recess: 3:59 - 5:03p.m.

Members in Attendance: Gowdy, Duncan, Issa, Jordan, Sanford, Amash, Gosar, DesJarlais, Massie, Meadows, DeSantis, Ross, Walker, Blum, Hice, Russell, Grothman, Hurd, Palmer, Comer, Mitchell, Gianforte, Cummings, Maloney, Norton, Clay, Lynch, Connolly, Kelly, Watson Coleman, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Gomez, Welch, Cartwright, DeSaulnier, Plaskett and Sarbanes.

H.R. 5925 (Gowdy), a bill to codify provisions relating to the Office of National Drug Control Policy, and for other purposes

1. Mr. Cummings offered an amendment that adds the Director of the Fusion Center to the membership of the Emerging Threats Task Force, clarifies the Emerging Threats Plan and information sharing requirements include substance use disorder treatment, and clarifies the Treatment Coordinator section of the bill. The amendment also introduces a new requirement to convene an advisory committee to promulgate standards for substance abuse disorder treatment and recovery facilities.

The amendment was agreed to by voice vote.

- 2. Mr. Lynch offered an amendment that requires the President to notify Congress if the President has not issued the National Drug Control Strategy by the due date. It also requires the OGR Committee to hold a hearing at which the Director shall explain the failure to provide the Strategy.
- 3. Mr. Palmer offered an amendment (2nd degree) to the Lynch amendment. Mr. Palmer's amendment removes the requirement that the OGR Committee hold a hearing if the President has not issued the National Drug Control Strategy by the due date.

The Palmer amendment was agreed to by voice vote. The Lynch amendment, as amended, was agreed to by voice vote.

4. Mr. Mitchell offered an amendment that requires the Director to establish a tracking system of federally funded initiatives and grant programs, establish performance metrics and goals for grant programs, develop a common application form for drug control related grant programs, and maintain a comprehensive list of all drug control program grant award opportunities.

The Mitchell amendment was agreed to by voice vote.

5. Mr. DeSaulnier offered an amendment that requires a GAO report three years after enactment and every three years thereafter.

The DeSaulnier amendment was agreed to by voice vote. The bill, H.R. 5925, as amended, was ordered favorably reported, by voice vote.

H.R. 5415 (Walker), GAO-IG Act

1. Mr. Walker offered an amendment in the nature of a substitute (ANS).

The ANS was agreed to by voice vote. The bill, H.R. 5415, as amended, was ordered favorably reported, by voice vote.

H.R. 2648 (Stivers), Veterans Transition Improvement Act

1. Mr. Russell offered an amendment in the nature of a substitute (ANS).

The ANS was agreed to by voice vote. The bill, H.R. 2648, as amended, was ordered favorably reported, by voice vote

H.R. 5321 (Moulton), Too Long; Didn't Read Act of 2018

1. Mr. Gianforte offered an amendment in the nature of a substitute (ANS).

The ANS was agreed to by voice vote. The bill, H.R. 5321, as amended, was ordered favorably reported, by voice vote.

H.R. 5896 (Hurd), Border Patrol Agent Pay Reform Amendments Act of 2018

1. Mr. Hurd offered an amendment that fixes two technical reference issues in the bill by: 1) inserting guidance on alternative work schedules for agents at the level 2 and basic rates of pay to conform with current law; and 2) clarifying the Office of Personnel Management has the authority to regulate the Border Patrol Agent Pay Reform Act.

The amendment was agreed to by voice vote. The bill, H.R. 5896, as amended, was ordered favorably reported to the House, by voice vote.

H. Res. 877 (Gomez), a Resolution of inquiry directing the Secretary of Commerce to provide certain documents in the Secretary's possession to the House of Representatives relating to the decision to include a question on citizenship in the 2020 decennial census of population

The resolution, H. Res. 877, was ordered adversely reported, with the recommendation the resolution not be agreed to by the House, by a record vote of 20-16 (Vote #1).

YEAS: Gowdy, Duncan, Issa, Jordan, Amash, Gosar, DesJarlais, Massie, Meadows, DeSantis, Ross, Walker, Blum, Hice, Grothman, Hurd, Palmer, Comer, Mitchell and Gianforte.

NAYS: Cummings, Maloney, Norton, Clay, Lynch, Connolly, Kelly, Watson Coleman, Krishnamoorthi, Raskin, Gomez, Welch, Cartwright, DeSaulnier, Plaskett and Sarbanes.

The following postal naming bills were reported favorably to the House by unanimous consent:

 H.R. 4407 (Hultgren), To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 3s101 Rockwell Street in Warrenville, Illinois, as the "Corporal Jeffery Allen Williams Post Office Building";

- 2. H.R. 4946 (Correa), To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 1075 North Tustin Street in Orange, California, as the "Specialist Trevor A. Win'E Post Office";
- 3. H.R. 5205 (Kihuen), To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 701 6th Street in Hawthorne, Nevada, as the "Sergeant Kenneth Eric Bostic Post Office";
- 4. H.R. 5238 (Clarke), To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 1234 Saint John's Place in Brooklyn, New York, as the "Major Robert Odell Owens Post Office;"
- H.R. 5349 (Cohen), To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 1320 Autumn Avenue in Memphis, Tennessee, as the "Judge Russell B. Sugarmon Post Office Building (as amended);"
- H.R. 5412 (King-NY), To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 25 2nd Avenue in Brentwood, New York, as the "Army Specialist Jose L. Ruiz Post Office Building";
- H.R. 5504 (Newhouse), To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 4801 West Van Giesen Street in West Richland, Washington, as the "Sergeant Dietrich Schmieman Post Office Building";
- 8. H.R. 5737 (Bustos), To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 108 West D Street in Alpha, Illinois, as the "Captain Joshua E. Steele Post Office"; and
- H.R. 5784 (Moore), To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 2650 North Doctor Martin Luther King Drive in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, as the "Vel R. Phillips Post Office Building."

[Ms. Maloney U.C. for the record: 5-21-18 letter from Ranking Member Elijah Cummings to Chairman Gowdy.]