Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

January 24, 2017

Organization Meeting Summary

Convened: 1:02 Adjourned: 3:05

Recess: 1:48 - 2:22 (Floor votes)

Chair: Chaffetz

Members in Attendance: Chaffetz, Duncan, Issa, Jordan, Sanford, Amash, Gosar, DesJarlais, Gowdy, Farenthold, Foxx, Massie, Meadows, DeSantis, Ross, Walker, Blum, Hice, Russell, Grothman, Hurd, Palmer, Comer, Mitchell, Cummings, Maloney, Norton, Clay, Lynch, Connolly, Kelly, Lawrence, Watson Coleman, Plaskett, Demings, Krishnamoorthi and Raskin.

Rules of the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform – 115th Congress

1) Mr. Chaffetz offered an amendment making two technical changes – one to Rule 2(d) and one to Rule 4(d).

The amendment was agreed to by a voice vote.

2) Mr. Connolly offered an amendment to Rule 12(g).

The amendment was defeated by a recorded vote of 12 Yeas to 21 Nays.

Voting Yea: Cummings, Maloney, Norton, Clay, Lynch, Connolly, Kelly, Lawrence, Watson Coleman, Demings, Krishnamoorthi and Raskin.

Voting Nay: Chaffetz, Duncan, Issa, Jordan, Sanford, Amash, DesJarlais, Gowdy, Farenthold, Massie, Meadows, DeSantis, Ross, Walker, Blum, Hice, Grothman, Hurd, Palmer, Comer and Mitchell.

3) Ms. Lawrence offered an amendment to Rule 12(g).

The amendment was defeated by a recorded vote of 12 Yeas to 21 Nays.

Voting Yea: Cummings, Maloney, Norton, Clay, Lynch, Connolly, Kelly, Lawrence, Watson Coleman, Demings, Krishnamoorthi and Raskin.

Voting Nay: Chaffetz, Duncan, Issa, Jordan, Sanford, Amash, DesJarlais, Gowdy, Farenthold, Massie, Meadows, DeSantis, Ross, Walker, Blum, Hice, Grothman, Hurd, Palmer, Comer and Mitchell.

4) Mr. Cummings offered an amendment to Rule 13.

The amendment was defeated by a recorded vote of 12 Yeas to 20 Nays.

Voting Yea: Cummings, Maloney, Norton, Clay, Lynch, Connolly, Kelly, Lawrence, Watson Coleman, Demings, Krishnamoorthi and Raskin.

Voting Nay: Chaffetz, Duncan, Issa, Sanford, Amash, DesJarlais, Gowdy, Farenthold, Massie, Meadows, DeSantis, Ross, Walker, Blum, Hice, Grothman, Hurd, Palmer, Comer and Mitchell.

The Committee Rules were agreed to, as amended, by a vote of 21 Yeas to 12 Nays.

Voting Yea: Chaffetz, Duncan, Issa, Jordan, Sanford, Amash, DesJarlais, Gowdy, Farenthold, Massie, Meadows, DeSantis, Ross, Walker, Blum, Hice, Grothman, Hurd, Palmer, Comer and Mitchell.

Voting Nay: Cummings, Maloney, Norton, Clay, Lynch, Connolly, Kelly, Lawrence, Watson Coleman, Demings, Krishnamoorthi and Raskin.

The Subcommittee assignments were announced.