







The Honorable Yvette Clarke U.S. House of Representatives 2058 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Troy Carter U.S. House of Representatives 442 Cannon House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Lucy McBath U.S. House of Representatives 2246 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Marilyn Strickland U.S. House of Representatives 1708 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Sydney Kamlager-Dove U.S. House of Representatives 1419 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

February 17, 2025

Dear Chairwoman Clarke & Members of the Congressional Black Caucus:

The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA), Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC), Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC), and Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC), represent Historically Black Colleges & Universities within Divisions' I and II of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). As members of the NCAA, our four Conferences include 48 institutions spanning nearly twenty states. We serve 15,000 student athletes, and bring together millions of HBCU alumni, fans and communities in celebration of our rich history and traditions.

While there have been historic changes recently in collegiate sports to support student-athletes overall, opportunities for our predominantly Black students at our institutions are at risk. Pending regulatory decisions and litigation threaten to change the face of college sports devoid of our input and, more importantly, without the voices of our student athletes, administrators and us as commissioners leading our conferences being considered. To ensure that college sports broadly – and HBCU sports especially – can continue to thrive, it's essential that Congress allow for consistent and nimble national governance and affirm that student-athletes are not designated as employees of their universities.

There continues to be a growing patchwork of state laws impacting college sports and creating disparities and confusion among our prospective and current student-athletes. The disparate laws and increasing court decisions have made it difficult for conferences like ours to continue to provide developmental and competition opportunities for member institutions and student-athletes. Retention is also a challenge within our HBCU student athlete population due to increasing differences in state laws and legal activity that have all but eliminated a level playing field.

At the same time, we are witnessing ongoing efforts to classify student-athletes as employees. Like the majority of our mid-major and Division II peers, most HBCUs do not generate significant revenue and rely heavily on school appropriated funds and donations. Classifying student-athletes as employees would have a devastating impact on our athletic programs and schools, and in some cases lead to the elimination of intercollegiate athletics.

Amid these looming outside threats, there has also been significant internal transformation during President Charlie Baker's first two years leading the NCAA. Recent initiatives and enhancements including membership funded sports injury health coverage for all college athletes for up to two years after graduation, student-athletes' access to mental health services, financial literacy training, health and well-being benefits, scholarship protections, and degree completion funding are bettering the student athlete experience. While we are working tirelessly to advocate for and protect all that we have accomplished with our HBCU campuses, we need your support and understanding in the value of affirming that student-athletes are not employees of their universities and in pre-empting state law and providing limited safe harbor protections to create clear and fair playing fields for HBCU student-athletes.

Over the past few years we have made efforts to meet with members of Congress and the Congressional Black Caucus to share the HBCU sports community's views regarding the passage of federal legislation for intercollegiate athletics. We continue to stand ready to engage as resources and as part of the dialogue on the important issues impacting HBCU intercollegiate athletics. We would like to invite Chair Clarke and/or members of her leadership team to discuss the important role the Congressional Black Caucus can play in protecting future opportunities for HBCU schools and student-athletes. Please let us know if there is a time in February or March that would be convenient to meet in-person or virtually.

Thank you again for your consideration and for your continued support of HBCU communities.

Kind regards,

Commissioner Jacqie McWilliams Central Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Commissioner Sonja Stills Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference

oju Stills

Commissioner Charles McClelland Southwestern Athletic Conference

Commissioner Anthony Holloman

Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Cc:

The Honorable Alma Adams

The Honorable Angela Alsobrooks

The Honorable Gabriel Amo

The Honorable Joyce Beatty

The Honorable Wesley Bell

The Honorable Sanford Bishop

The Honorable Lisa Blunt Rochester

The Honorable Cory Booker

The Honorable Shontel Brown

The Honorable Janelle Bynum

The Honorable Andre Carson

The Honorable Troy Carter

The Honorable Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick

The Honorable Yvette Clarke

The Honorable Emanuel Cleaver

The Honorable James Clyburn

The Honorable Herbert Conaway

The Honorable Jasmine Crockett

The Honorable Danny Davis

The Honorable Donald Davis

The Honorable Dwight Evans

The Honorable Cleo Fields

The Honorable Shomari Figures

The Honorable Valerie Foushee

The Honorable Maxwell Frost

The Honorable Al Green

The Honorable Jahana Hayes

The Honorable Glenn Ivey

The Honorable Jonathan Jackson

The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries

The Honorable Henry Johnson

The Honorable Sydney Kamlager-Dove

The Honorable Robin Kelly

The Honorable Summer Lee

The Honorable Lucia McBath

The Honorable Jennifer McClellan

The Honorable Lamonica McIver

The Honorable Gregory Meeks

The Honorable Kweisi Mfume

The Honorable Gwendolynne Moore

The Honorable Joseph Neguse

The Honorable Eleanor Norton

The Honorable Ilhan Omar

The Honorable Stacey Plaskett

The Honorable Ayanna Pressley

The Honorable Robert Scott

The Honorable David Scott

The Honorable Terry Sewell

The Honorable Lateefah Simon

The Honorable Marilyn Strickland

The Honorable Emilia Sykes

The Honorable Bennie Thompson

The Honorable Ritchie Torres

The Honorable Sylvester Turner

The Honorable Lauren Underwood

The Honorable Marc Veasey

The Honorable Raphael Warnock

The Honorable Maxine Waters

The Honorable Bonnie Watson Coleman

The Honorable Nikema Williams

The Honorable Frederica Wilson