Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

January 25, 2025

The Honorable Donald J. Trump President The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave N.W. Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Trump:

We write to express our grave concern about your recent attempt to unlawfully and arbitrarily remove more than a dozen independent, nonpartisan inspectors general without notice to Congress or the public and in the dead of night. Your actions violate the law, attack our democracy, and undermine the safety of the American people.

Congress established Offices of Inspectors General to independently and objectively hold federal government agencies accountable.¹ Independent inspectors general protect Americans' investments in the federal government and root out waste, fraud and abuse. Congress, in overwhelmingly bipartisan recognition of the value of independent inspectors general to the American people and our democracy, enshrined requirements for legal removal of inspectors general designed to protect their work from political interference and intimidation. Your actions fail to satisfy the legal requirements for lawful removal.

Late in the evening on January 24, 2025, more than a dozen inspectors general received an email informing them that "due to changing priorities" their position was "terminated, effective immediately."² The *Inspector General Act of 1978*, amended in 2022 with broad bipartisan support, requires the President to notify Congress 30 days prior to removal of an inspector general and provide "substantive rationale, including detailed and case-specific reasons" for such removal.³ The email terminating the inspectors general fails to provide the required notice and a legitimate rationale, as required by law.

Firing inspectors general without due cause is antithetical to good government, undermines the proper stewardship of taxpayer dollars, and degrades the federal government's ability to function effectively and efficiently. We urge you to withdraw your unlawful action and comply with your obligations to the American people.

¹ Inspector General Act of 1978.

² Letter from Hannibal "Mike" Ware, Chairperson, Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency, to Sergio Gor, Director of Presidential Personnel, The White House (Jan. 24, 2025).

³ 5 U.S.C. § 403(b), as amended by the section 5202(a) of the *Securing Inspector General Independence Act of 2022* (Title LII, Subtitle A, of P.L. 117-263, 136 Stat. 2395, 3222).

The Honorable Donald J. Trump Page 2

Sincerely,

1 C. Connol Gerald E. Connolly

Member of Congress

Whet

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez

Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

James P. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Maxine Waters Member of Congress

-me Rashi

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Mark Jahan

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Jaceph D. morelle

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Smith dám

Member of Congress

The Honorable Donald J. Trump Page 3

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Jim Hi

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

James Comer, Chair, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform cc: Glenn Thompson, Chair, Committee on Agriculture Tom Cole, Chair, Committee on Appropriations Mike Rogers, Chair, Committee on Armed Services Jodey Arrington, Chair, Committee on the Budget Tim Walberg, Chair, Committee on Education and the Workforce Brett Guthrie, Chair, Committee on Energy and Commerce French Hill, Chair, Committee on Financial Services Brian Mast, Chair, Committee on Foreign Affairs Mark Green, Chair, Committee on Homeland Security Bryan Steil, Chair, Committee on House Administration Jim Jordan, Chair, Committee on the Judiciary Bruce Westerman, Chair, Committee on Natural Resources Virginia Foxx, Chair, Committee on Rules Brian Babin, Chair, Committee on Science, Space, and Technology Roger Williams, Chair, Committee on Small Business Sam Graves, Chair, Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Mike Bost, Chair, Committee on Veterans' Affairs

The Honorable Donald J. Trump Page 4

Jason Smith, Chair, Committee on Ways and Means Rick Crawford, Chair, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence