Dr. Miriam E. John

Dr. Miriam E. John is serving in various consulting and board roles since her retirement as Vice President of Sandia's California Laboratory in Livermore, California. During her Sandia career, she worked on a wide variety of programs, including nuclear weapons, chemical and biological defense, missile defense, solar energy, and provided leadership for a number of the laboratory's energy, national security, and homeland security programs.

She is a member of the DoD's Defense Science Board (DSB) and Vice Chairman of its Threat Reduction Advisory Committee (TRAC). She is also a member of the AAAS Committee on Science and Engineering Public Policy (COSEPP) and serves as Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors of the



National Institute for Hometown Security. She is the immediate past Chair of the National Research Council's Naval Studies Board, a member of its Intelligence Science and Technology Experts Group and its Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology.

Dr. John is a member of the Board of Advisors for MIT Lincoln Laboratory, the Board of Directors for Sandia National Laboratories and for the Charles Stark Draper Laboratory, and the Board of Directors of Leidos, Inc. (formerly SAIC). She has recently been recruited as a member of the Mission Committee of the combined Lawrence Livermore and Los Alamos National Laboratories' Board, overseeing the technical programs of both laboratories. She is a Senior Fellow and immediate past Chair of the California Council on Science and Technology. Dr. John is a member of the Dean's advisory board for the School of Science and Engineering and chairs the Advisory Board for the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Tulane University, where she has been recognized as an outstanding alumna. She is a member of the External Advisory Board of the DOE sponsored, UC Berkeley led National Science and Security Consortium.

She was appointed a National Associate of the National Academies of Science and Engineering and is the recipient of the Navy's Superior Public Service Award. She was named the 2015 recipient of DoD's Eugene G. Fubini Award for her "significant and sustained contributions in an advisory capacity to the Department."